Will it be a Charlie Brown Christmas this year?


Last year I came home to this tree and sign on the lawn. Was my husband giving me a hint? Were things getting so bad that we’d have to have a Charlie Brown Christmas? Well it didn’t turn out that way but it was certainly more stressful getting the Christmas shopping done. Who wants to disappoint the kids? In my house we understand Christmas is not about getting gifts but you have to admit getting gifts is fun, especially if you are a kid.
.
I always start my Christmas shopping by summer. Spread out the money I’m spending so it doesn’t always hit at once. However, sometimes I think to myself I may end up spending more because I’ll have everything done and as the holidays approach I see all these other things here and there that I just have to buy. But as times get tougher and because I don’t want to skimp on Christmas I find myself trying to skimp on the grocery bill in order to be able to buy gifts. Eat more pasta, Buy a Christmas Gift…
.
I know here in the United States Christmas is a big deal compared to other countries with all the gift giving we do. And while we are busy shopping and unwrapping gifts I think back to being told, “There are people starving in Africa.” But I can’t help to think this year while my husband and I are feeling the strains of the economy and thinking this is another “Charlie Brown Christmas” as compared to the “Good Ole Times” how many others aren’t as blessed as us as I look around and see that not only people are starving in Africa but people are starving right here in the United States.
.
copyrighted 2011; danadogooder and DMT
About danadogooder

Happily married for 20 years except when he is pissing me off! ' Mommy of 3 boys, a yellow female lab named Curious, 2 kitties Trouble and Kornelia, and bird and fish! Yes, we have a Zoo! Love to cook, entertain, and travel. I give new meaning to, "You can't fight city hall" Cause I fought worse, "Yes, The Board of Ed! " I live in a houseful of ADHD, Dyslexia, Auditory Processing, Sensory Integration and Allergies!!! I love being a Mom, to have fun and am always joking around! My job titles are: Wife, Mommy, Advocate, Friend, Maid, Cook, Self Employed Business Owner among many others!
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

