Do animals speak different languages and dialects?


So my best friend Michaela lives in Switzerland. Yes, born and raised there. She comes to visit me every summer and one time she even came for Christmas. We can have the strangest conversations at times. Did I also mention she majored in Linguistics and is an English teacher over there? So while on the topic of speaking about language and linguistics one day we got into a conversation and she said the animals in Switzerland speak a different language too.
.
For example our dogs here in the United States say, Woof, Woof! But in Switzerland the dog says, Wow, Wow! Hmmm, is he or she amazed? Has he just seen a hot bitch (female dog), Wowwwww…..
.
Here in the United States the frog says, Ribbit, Ribbit while apparently their frog says, Quawck. Sounds more  like a sick duck then a frog to me!!!
.
Then the rooster here in the states says, Cockadoodle doo but in Switzerland he says,  Ki-Kiri-Keeee! I’m clueless on this one.
.
So yesterday in the middle of multi-tasking; homeschooling, cleaning, cooking, and decorating for Christmas these thoughts pop into my mind from a conversation I had with Michaela probably at least two years ago. (Do I have ADHD like my husband and eldest son?) I randomly thought, “Do animals speak different languages and dialects?” Like I really have time to be thinking about these things when I have so much to do for the holidays but I needed to know if it is true….  I go to my computer to start my research….
.
The answer is, Yes it’s true!!!  All animals from different regions share a call system, but that call system shows distinct accents depending on where the animals is raised.
.

This has been most notably studied in primates (Seyfarth & Cheney) and bottlenosed dolphins (Reiss & McGowan) and has been extremely well documented in many avian species (Mahler, Mundinger, 1982; Adret, 1986; Sorjonen 1987).

Further research by McGowan has shown this phenomenon seems to be true of most animals species.
.
In fact whale species have been found to have different dialects based on location.

Marine biologist Peter Tyack  states “We actually know that killer whales do use dialects. We don’t know what the sounds mean, but each killer whale family has its own set of calls, like a dialect in human language!”

So now that I know how to speak “Rooster” when I visit Switzerland it is back to decorating for Christmas and getting all the things done I need to do. I wonder what will pop in my mind today…………….
.
copyrighted 2011; danadogooder and DMT
About danadogooder

Happily married for 20 years except when he is pissing me off! ' Mommy of 3 boys, a yellow female lab named Curious, 2 kitties Trouble and Kornelia, and bird and fish! Yes, we have a Zoo! Love to cook, entertain, and travel. I give new meaning to, "You can't fight city hall" Cause I fought worse, "Yes, The Board of Ed! " I live in a houseful of ADHD, Dyslexia, Auditory Processing, Sensory Integration and Allergies!!! I love being a Mom, to have fun and am always joking around! My job titles are: Wife, Mommy, Advocate, Friend, Maid, Cook, Self Employed Business Owner among many others!
This entry was posted in Animals and Nature and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

