40’s eyes


Age takes a toll on your body, and your eyes are no exception. This year at age 44 I went from crystal clear vision to feeling like I am blind as a bat when trying to read ingredients on a bottle or see the incoming caller on my cellular phone. Matter of fact at the last get together with some of my longest friends (since elementary school) we discovered that we all needed reading glasses.
( My elementary school friends and I all pose for a picture looking stylish.)
Then this past weekend I realized I should have brought a pair of reading glasses down by the pool when I went to go time for the swim meet and had to read the stopwatch. In any event I’m glad my eyes have lasted this long as many of my friends were already using reading glasses for awhile.  I was one of the last ones to cave in and buy a pair. Not being able to see can also be quite annoying at times. And to add to the matter the discussion between moms my age and slightly older this weekend was perimenopausal symptoms. Well I may be getting old but my heart is still young and fun…..
copyrighted 2011; dandogooder and DMT
About danadogooder

Happily married for 20 years except when he is pissing me off! ' Mommy of 3 boys, a yellow female lab named Curious, 2 kitties Trouble and Kornelia, and bird and fish! Yes, we have a Zoo! Love to cook, entertain, and travel. I give new meaning to, "You can't fight city hall" Cause I fought worse, "Yes, The Board of Ed! " I live in a houseful of ADHD, Dyslexia, Auditory Processing, Sensory Integration and Allergies!!! I love being a Mom, to have fun and am always joking around! My job titles are: Wife, Mommy, Advocate, Friend, Maid, Cook, Self Employed Business Owner among many others!
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 40’s eyes

  1. Searching for the Light says:

    Yeah, know that feeling, its time to cave in and get those glasses when you need longer arms to be able read the small stuff. What I fail to understand is how I can be long-sighted and short-sighted at the same time!

  2. Alison says:

    Nothing was worse for me than finding out I needed bifocals on my 40th birthday! Some days I really wonder if I am actually in my 40’s, and others I really know I am! But being young at heart is what counts and intend to live each day with a young spirit!

Leave a Reply

