Ground Hog Day!


Did you ever see the movie Groundhog Day? The guy wakes up on the following day after Groundhog Day only to discover that it’s Groundhog Day again, and again, and again. He eventually realizes that he is doomed to spend the rest of his life doing the same things, seeing the same people and places everyday. I really can relate to this lately.

I wake up between four and five in the morning each day. I wander to the kitchen. Yes, the raid has occurred. Open kitchen cabinets, drawers, dirty plates, empty popcorn bags, etc… left over from the late night snacks. I start to clean the mess. I also wipe down the stove and counters. I place the teapot on the stove in order to heat the water to make myself a cup of tea. I empty the dishwasher. I start some laundry. I feed the dog. I visit the cats. I move to the next rooms.

I break from the work and check my facebook account and possibly my e-mail account too. I try to write my blog. Now it’s time to wake the boys. I tell them to pee as they go to step in the shower. Don’t they realize by now they have to pee every morning? Anyway, I put one in one shower and another in another shower. Thank Goodness we have two showers because I’d never have time to get all three boys showered in the morning. I start walking around to pick up the dirty socks and plates that have been left upstairs. I’m folding blankets. There are tons of blankets everywhere. Yes, my children have a blanket obsession. Before, I make the beds I need to check on the boys. Yes, they are laying in the tub, sleeping, letting the water hit them.  Do they think this is a Vichy Shower? I yell, “IS YOUR HAIR WASHED YET?” No, of course not. I wait for them to wash, condition, etc… I hand them a washcloth. I say, “Make sure you wash the important parts well, YOUR ASS, YOUR BALLS, YOUR ARMPITS!” Yes, that is exactly what I say every morning. Boys respond to this!!!  I make sure at least one of them gets out by this point. I need to get the third child and start the process again. They brush their teeth and usually come down the stairs without their hair brushed (exception the teen). No his hair needs to be perfect cause you know he is gorgeous and needs to look good.

Somehow during the shower process I have managed to make breakfast. I try to make something different each day, scrambled eggs, cereal, waffles, etc…. The teen is starting to put his plate or bowl in the sink regularly when he is done eating. This is a HUGE accomplishment. I run back up the stairs to see if the towels are left on the floor. Of course, they are. Sometimes I make them come back up and hang them. Most of the time I hang them up myself. Depends how much I am in the mood to yell.

I adminster the vitamin regimen, a multiple, acidophilus, and Vitamin C. In that order, yes! The Vitamin C tastes best. It is a chewable. Now to scramble to make lunch or give the lunch money. I then run upstairs to take a five minute or less shower for myself. The minivan arrives to pick up the teen. I do the check, “Are your shoes on? Do you have all your homework in your backpack? Do you have your backpack? Did you take your lunch money? Do you have your cell phone? Do you need a jacket?” We walk to the minivan together. Yes, I make sure the seatbelt is on. I remind him to call me when he gets to school. (He travels 37 miles to school and I want to know he’s arrived safely.) I say, “I love you!” He says the same back. We kiss each other, Goodbye!

Now back I run back into the house. I throw my hair in a ponytail. I do the middle child check. I make sure I have my homeschool materials gathered. We leave by 8 a.m. to head to therapy for my middle son. We wait the 35 minutes in the van and I start homeschooling. The therapy is over. I make a 40 mile trip to drive my middle son to school. I drive back 37 miles to my house. It’s been about five and half to six and a half hours since I’ve started my day by this point. Can anyone guess what my morning will be like tomorrow? It will be Ground Hog Day all over again……

copyrighted 2011; danadogooder and DMT

About danadogooder

Happily married for 20 years except when he is pissing me off! ' Mommy of 3 boys, a yellow female lab named Curious, 2 kitties Trouble and Kornelia, and bird and fish! Yes, we have a Zoo! Love to cook, entertain, and travel. I give new meaning to, "You can't fight city hall" Cause I fought worse, "Yes, The Board of Ed! " I live in a houseful of ADHD, Dyslexia, Auditory Processing, Sensory Integration and Allergies!!! I love being a Mom, to have fun and am always joking around! My job titles are: Wife, Mommy, Advocate, Friend, Maid, Cook, Self Employed Business Owner among many others!
This entry was posted in Parenting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ground Hog Day!

  1. Lol…Im cracking up about the shower part because I say the same EXACT thing every morning to my kid!! Great minds think alike…wouldnt want them to go to school with a dirty ass, balls or armpits!!! lol!!!

  2. danadogooder says:

    Reblogged this on danadogooder and commented:

    Happy Ground Hog Day! 6 more weeks on winter and who know when my Ground Hog day will end! 🙂

Leave a Reply

