Our Dog, Our Hero!


Our Dog, Our Hero! Curious is her name. She is so many things to our family including a real live hero. It was August 30th, 2010. I woke up early as I always do. I was exhausted because I had just hosted my annual family reunion at our beach by the lake. If you have ever been to one of my parties you’ll know I like everything to be just so. There is always a theme and always a ton of work involved. That year was a tropical theme. We lugged our live palm trees, grill, tables, decorations to the beach, you name it! The party turned out so well that it turned into an all weekend party. Some of my cousins slept over and we repeated Saturday’s scene all over again that Sunday.

Monday August 30th had arrived. I had invited the Pastor over for lunch that day. But I was so exhausted from the weekend I hadn’t prepared for my lunch that day. So by 5:30 a.m. I had made some homemade banana bread from scratch and it was in the oven. I had previously decided I would do a fairly simple lunch and had bought some of those little cocktail breads. I was going to make a combination of egg salad and or cucumber and creamcheese sandwiches. After the banana bread was in the oven I put a pot of water on with some eggs. Now did I mention my family had been facebooking me and saying, Where are the pictures from the weekend? So I headed upstairs to my computer.

I sat down at the computer desk in my son’s bedroom. It was quiet. The boys were all sleeping. Curious was on the main floor downstairs. That is the floor she stays on and is not allowed upstairs in the bedrooms. I actually go to the couch at night to sleep with her. In any event, I was posting pictures on Facebook. I was trying to rush because I knew the eggs were on. Next thing you know here comes Curious up the stairs. She had her head down like she knew she was not suppose to be upstairs and started head butting me to get up. I got scared. She had never come upstairs. Was someone in the house? I grabbed my phone ready to call 911. She led me downstairs to the stove and pointed as a Lab would do when hunting. The eggs were just about to catch fire. The water had all boiled away. It had never occurred to me that a fire was about to start. I honestly thought someone was in the house. I couldn’t believe it. She had saved us from a fire. She was a Hero. I praised her again and again.

I later found out she had practiced what is called, “Intelligent disobedience”. It is  a concept where an animal goes directly against their owner’s instructions in an effort to make a better decision.   This a a technique in which they train service animals to do in order to protect their owner. Not allowing a person with blindness to enter the street if a car is approaching etc… This behavior is taught during a service animal’s training and is crucial to their success in their job.The concept of intelligent disobedience has been known and practiced  since at least 1936. However, although Curious had never had such training she instinctively knew and practiced, “Intelligent Disobedience” to protect her family. She is, “Our Dog, Our Hero! “

copyrighted 2011: danadogooder and DMT

About danadogooder

Happily married for 20 years except when he is pissing me off! ' Mommy of 3 boys, a yellow female lab named Curious, 2 kitties Trouble and Kornelia, and bird and fish! Yes, we have a Zoo! Love to cook, entertain, and travel. I give new meaning to, "You can't fight city hall" Cause I fought worse, "Yes, The Board of Ed! " I live in a houseful of ADHD, Dyslexia, Auditory Processing, Sensory Integration and Allergies!!! I love being a Mom, to have fun and am always joking around! My job titles are: Wife, Mommy, Advocate, Friend, Maid, Cook, Self Employed Business Owner among many others!
This entry was posted in Animals and Nature, Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Our Dog, Our Hero!

  1. Claire says:

    Wow what a great read. Kudos to Curious !

  2. danadogooder says:

    Thank you! I love that dog! 🙂

  3. Pingback: My 100th Blog! | danadogooder

  4. I Love Curious…oh you forgot to mention…she also likes to drink out of a glass!!! hehehehe!

Leave a Reply

