A tragedy!


Today I was going to write a blog about my dog but instead I am writing about a dog I didn’t even know. There are only two things I really know. Where he or she lived and that they were greatly loved.

Last night one of the most tragic things happened to me.. I hit a dog. They were killed instantaneously. I travel a lot. I’m a good driver. I’ve never had an accident. I’ve never hit anything. Not even a squirrel. The way it happened I didn’t even have time to hit my breaks or swerve. Nothing! I could do absolutely nothing.

The way the house sits there is no front yard. Directly behind the house is railroad tracks. It is in town. Coming out of the driveway there are bushes that even block the driveway’s view. There is a sign prior to it marked hidden driveway. I assume this is the house they are referring too. The speed limit is 35 miles per hour.

A small dog ran out from the driveway behind the bushes. I wasn’t even probably a second away from the point where he or she ran out, Like I said there was no time to even hit the breaks before the initial impact. The owner was right there to witness. She had no time to even grab the dog. The dog was immediately dead. The woman grabbed her dog. Holding the dog crying and sobbing. Her children had been right behind her and her husband who let out a yell and began to cry. It was awful. My kids were also in the car although they never had a chance to see the dog be hit. It was that quick. But they knew. I had stopped. I called 911. I was trying to get the information out to the dispatcher. In my heart, I already knew the dog was dead. I was able to tell the dispatcher where I was and give landmarks although I was a bit confused about a few things such as was I in the Township or Borough?  I made sure they knew where we all were before I hung up and burst into tears.

The police responded very quick. He first went to the family. I was standing about ten feet away from the family. Somehow the children weren’t there anymore. I think another family member got them away from the scene. The father and my eyes connected for a moment and he knew I was in pain along with them. To his credit, he told the Officer there was nothing I could have done. That the dog had escaped and darted in the road.

The Officer came to me. He had also looked around at the scenario. He also assured me there was nothing I could do. Regardless, my heart was broken. I told him, You don’t understand I love animals. I have a dog myself. I have cats. I’m an animal lover. He said to me, Perhaps you can send the family flowers and asked if I was okay to drive. I told him I was.

I pulled myself together for my children’s sake. We were minutes away from the track. They were only four minutes late. I told them to go to the track. After they left I broke down once again and cried. I called my husband, my dad, and my friend Ally.

The boys returned and I got out of my car. One of the moms saw me and said, You look tired. I told her a horrible thing just happened and burst into tears once again relaying to her the story. She hugged me.

I wasn’t done with my evening. I finished what I had to do, My whole family hugged me when I got home. I briefly instant messaged a friend last night. I asked for advice of what I could do for the family. I had my own idea of what I should do but I was still a bit unsure. I want to reach out to them. I wish I could hug them. I wish I could take their pain away. My friend asked, What would I want done if it were my dog hit? I said, I’d want them to stop and that is why I stopped. Two people in my community had their animals hit and the people never stopped. I also told her, I’d want to know they were grieving with me. That is why I do want to send the family a note expressing my sorrow. I think a note is appropriate but decided it might be too painful for them to see me in person. Today is going to be a rough day.

I hope that nobody has to go through what I experienced last night, I also ask for prayers for the family. I need to pull myself together and get through the day. I hope tomorrow is less painful.

copyrighted 2011: danadogooder and DMT

About danadogooder

Happily married for 20 years except when he is pissing me off! ' Mommy of 3 boys, a yellow female lab named Curious, 2 kitties Trouble and Kornelia, and bird and fish! Yes, we have a Zoo! Love to cook, entertain, and travel. I give new meaning to, "You can't fight city hall" Cause I fought worse, "Yes, The Board of Ed! " I live in a houseful of ADHD, Dyslexia, Auditory Processing, Sensory Integration and Allergies!!! I love being a Mom, to have fun and am always joking around! My job titles are: Wife, Mommy, Advocate, Friend, Maid, Cook, Self Employed Business Owner among many others!
This entry was posted in Animals and Nature and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

