Halloween Treats


It’s October 1st and it’s time to start thinking about Halloween! In forty three years I can only remember not dressing up once. My front yard transforms into a graveyard. I honestly think I enjoy Halloween more than my children. Well maybe not my youngest because he is the “candyman” of our family. In any event, here are two of my favorite treats to make at Halloween and they always are a big hit yet simple to make.

Just make your standard gingerbread men with whatever recipe you choose but to add a ghoulish touch by using white icing to decorate them as little skeletons.

OR

How about trying these delish Ghost pears?

Another simple yet different and adorable treat to make.Β  All you need is wax paper, pears, popsicle sticks, white chocolate chips, crisco, and milk chocolate chips.

In a pot melt some crisco along with white chocolate. Push the popsicle stick in the top of the pear. Dip the pear in white chocolate. You may have to dip, let slightly dry and dip again to get a nice white coat of chocolate on the pear. Add two chocolate chips to make the eyes. Put on wax paper and refrigerate until ready to serve.

For a mother of three boys these treats are easy to make, a bit different and lots of fun! The kid’s and adults will love them. I hope you have a Happy Halloween and please do share:

What are some of your favorite Halloween treats to make?

copyrighted 2011: danadogooder and DMT

About danadogooder

Happily married for 20 years except when he is pissing me off! ' Mommy of 3 boys, a yellow female lab named Curious, 2 kitties Trouble and Kornelia, and bird and fish! Yes, we have a Zoo! Love to cook, entertain, and travel. I give new meaning to, "You can't fight city hall" Cause I fought worse, "Yes, The Board of Ed! " I live in a houseful of ADHD, Dyslexia, Auditory Processing, Sensory Integration and Allergies!!! I love being a Mom, to have fun and am always joking around! My job titles are: Wife, Mommy, Advocate, Friend, Maid, Cook, Self Employed Business Owner among many others!
This entry was posted in Recipes, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Halloween Treats

  1. I’m going to make a wild guess? You’re American. I don’t mean that in an offensive way, but I can’t imagine that anyone British would start thinking about Halloween until approximately the 30th of October, i myself shan’t ever start thinking about it – although I may go out on the town :D. These look great, even if they are a little premature πŸ˜€

    • danadogooder says:

      Yes, I am writing from the USA. However, don’t be fooled many Americans wait till the last minute to think about holidays, such as my husband who always waits til Christmas Eve. to buy my gift. Plus I wouldn’t want to blog about this on October 30th because that might not leave you enough time to run out and get the ingredients. πŸ™‚

  2. Haha! These are so funny! I’m making these ASAP!

Leave a Reply

