Queen of Tchotchkes


I was once told I was the Queen of Tchotchkes! We could say the same about photo’s too! However, I despise clutter. Well at least unorganized clutter. That is why I try to cleverly place each item and photo I display. My husband just cringes when I tell him to get out his hammer. But to me every item displays a unique memory, learning experience, or expression of who I am or who my family is.

Let’s start in my boy’s bedrooms. There are numerous pictures of them from birth, school photo’s, special friends and involved in sports. I also have proudly displayed their pre-school, nursery school and kindergarten diploma’s each framed and hung on the walls of their room. On the shelving in the room I also have special pieces of artwork they have made over the years, some pottery, other pinecone collections, etc… I also have some mirrored shelving that displays their Mood Dragon collection that I started for each of them. There is also the “special stuffed animals”placed strategically around the room. Then of course there is the “rock collection”. I have some of our more precious pieces in a display case. Large Geodes, Pink Quartz, Citrine, and Amethyst just to name a few. Each of the boys have their own mason jar too. This holds things they have found along the way. Some may think it is “junk” but to them it is “treasure”. You know the saying, “One Man’s Junk is Another Man’s Treasure!” Amongst all this are personalized items and precious keepsakes, namely their baby shoes that I had silvered. Yes, not bronzed but done in silver. I’m a silver and platinum kind of gal. Some stranger things you may find around the room: Petrified Fungus: The school’s assignment was that my son was suppose to read and study about fungus. Being he had severe dyslexia he had his own way of studying. He climbed a tree and removed some petrified fungus and studied it. I was so impressed with his cleverness it remains in his room today and is on display. Then there is also an ostrich egg: Did you know that an ostrich egg, at 3.3 pounds is the largest single cell that exists today on our planet? And if this isn’t enough I like each room to have a theme. One bedroom is decorated in a dinosaur theme and the other in a dog theme. Yes, I have three boys but they are in only two bedrooms although each could have their own room. Sharing a room and things is a great bonding experience and life lesson but that of course is a whole other blog.

Moving to the boy’s bathroom. Another interesting place. The theme is wildlife and nature. In that spirit, I have various photo’s displayed around the room. Photo’s of capture and releases over the years: the sharks, the northern water snake. the snapping turtle, the bass that my elder son stuck down his little brother’s underwear. Well the frog he wasn’t as lucky. He was never released but we still do have him in a mason jar filled with alcohol so he is “preserved”. Then there are the tub shot pictures. You know the ones you have to save to show their future girlfriends and wife. Other items on display are a set of shark jaws we bought down the shore, a real preserved piranha we purchased in Brazil,and an alligator head we purchased in Florida. Then of course, our seashell and coral collection. Some of those pieces date back to when I was a little girl and of course have now been added too.

Moving on to mine and my husband’s room. It is very serene. The walls are the palest pink (Kate’s Kisses) and filled with photo’s of my children. The furniture is antique and the set I grew up with. On the tops of my dresser’s are special pieces that have been given to me by my husband, children, family or friends. Along side of these items are the tooth banks. Each of my children have one and each bank has a circular bottom that holds each of their teeth as they loose them. Then there is a special hand print my eldest son made for me at Sunday School. I’m always so cautious of the “hand print” every time I dust my room. Yes, dusting is always a painful process having to move and re-position all these items. One of my other favorite items on my dresser is a double headed pig bank. Yes, sounds strange but it is really cute and I bought it at the dollar store about twenty three years ago when I was engaged to my now husband because on it, It read, “Joint Account”. Yes, that was our first joint account. I also have a few various special stuffed animals in my room. One is a Mommy Vermont Teddy Bear that my friend Mike bought me when I delivered my first son. Mike passed away from stomach cancer on November 11, 2003. I also have a special friend bear that my friend Lisa sent me when I was sad and going through my “school battles.” Another bear is a collectible given to me by Sandy one of my best and eldest friends (Age 77). And of course, my old Raggedy Ann Doll that was mine as a little girl and she sure does look a bit Raggedy by now. Then there is the ceramic angel from Switzerland given to me by youngest best friend, Michaela. Besides all this I also have a variety of rose prints, rose ceramics and silk roses, one from my sister in law’s baby shower. My average size bedroom sure holds a lot of memories.

Our master bath is painted in a French County Blue and has live plants and dry flowers throughout the room. Some of the flowers dried are from my husband and some are from my grandmother’s funerals. Sadly, I buried both my grandma’s thirty days apart last year.

Last of the bedrooms, is the spare room otherwise known as “Michaela’s room”. It is bright yellow with a theme of a variety of purple flowers. There is a shelf I had my husband build towards the ceiling that holds my Ann Geddes doll collection. Floral photo frames display my friends children. On one wall there are each of my children’s handprints embedded in a ceramic heart. Close by, is my three son’s Locks of Love Certificates as well as the framed Newspaper clipping from when they each donated ten inches of hair.

Moving downstairs to the dining room I of course have all my china and crystal displayed in the china closet and curio cabinet. There is one very special crystal bowl that I have on display that my younger brother (he is fifteen years my junior) gave me. He bought it at a garage sale for a nickel and I guard that bowl with my life till this day. On the walls more photos are displayed. I also some more of my children’s artwork displayed and my wedding cake topper.

The kitchen is dark blue with shades of reds throughout the room. It mimics a country theme and has bears and primitive looking items hanging on the walls. My favorite is the tin family that my friend Sandy gave us with a tin person who represents each of my family including our dog and cats. I also have some funny and cute signs around the room given to me by special friends. My favorite is one that says, “Mothers work from son up to son down!” Again the walls are filled with more special photos. I also must mention my collectible cow creamers that sit on top of my cabinets and a special jar of preserved cherries that sit in an Italian boot given to me by my friend Sharon.

The downstairs bathroom is a variety of bears (Including my toilet paper holder) and various nature and potty shots. You know even potty training can spark a special moment.

Lastly, in the living room and family room all I can say is there is photos and more photos.
I even have a picture of the tarantula that bit me in the Dominican Republic. Yes, my husband was ever so kind to take a picture of the spider that bit me. Moving onto to two much more sentimental pieces that are neatly placed in the corner of my desk in the family room is my husband’s bunny from when he was a baby and my monkey that my mom and dad bought me while my mom was pregnant with me. Yes, my monkey is nearly 45 years old now…

So am I the Queen of Tchotchkes or do you have me beat? What special items do you have around your rooms?

Copyrighted 2011: danadogooder and DMT

About danadogooder

Happily married for 20 years except when he is pissing me off! ' Mommy of 3 boys, a yellow female lab named Curious, 2 kitties Trouble and Kornelia, and bird and fish! Yes, we have a Zoo! Love to cook, entertain, and travel. I give new meaning to, "You can't fight city hall" Cause I fought worse, "Yes, The Board of Ed! " I live in a houseful of ADHD, Dyslexia, Auditory Processing, Sensory Integration and Allergies!!! I love being a Mom, to have fun and am always joking around! My job titles are: Wife, Mommy, Advocate, Friend, Maid, Cook, Self Employed Business Owner among many others!
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

