Firstborn: Missing the point


I responded to the case manager. Did she really not get it? If not, I’d explain it again and again. I wrote:

Your letter dated June 21, 2005 suggests that you missed the point of my June 19, 2005 letter. My son’s independent work certainly shows that his disability of Dyslexia is impacting him educationally and his performance as compared to his potential. While I agree that he still needs to be re-mediated in many areas of writing and reading it is a fact that assistive technology should be used in addition to maintain or improve the functional capabilities of a student with a disability. My letter was in no way a reflection on the teacher or her teaching skills. The point of the letter was to show that my son does indeed make numerous phonetic mistakes which Co-Writer software could assist him in. When I questioned my son about why he stated that he did “nothing” on many weekends he said because he did not want to write about it because it was too hard. An example of how Co-Writer could benefit my son with his written work and book reports would be:

My son might state verbally, I saw a tremendous elephant at the zoo.
However in his writing he would probably state, I saw a big elephant at the zoo.

Dyslexics tend to not write to their potential and keyboarding can eliminate this hand encoding process.With assistive technology they can focus more on content of their writing rather then focusing on their spelling.

I hope this provides further detail on my previous letter dated June 19th.

It was almost summer again. Another battle was brewing. My son would be entering fourth grade. I was tired and exhausted. I probably met the criteria for having a sleeping disorder and eating disorder by this point,. All I wanted was for my son to be able to have the things he needed to succeed. To feel good about himself. He was a great kid and I wasn’t going to let anything or anyone bring him down. I thought to myself at the time, this could be the death of me. But somehow God always showed up for me in the nick of time. I regained my strength. I regained composure. I could do this…

Copyrighted 2011: danadogooder and DMT

About danadogooder

Happily married for 20 years except when he is pissing me off! ' Mommy of 3 boys, a yellow female lab named Curious, 2 kitties Trouble and Kornelia, and bird and fish! Yes, we have a Zoo! Love to cook, entertain, and travel. I give new meaning to, "You can't fight city hall" Cause I fought worse, "Yes, The Board of Ed! " I live in a houseful of ADHD, Dyslexia, Auditory Processing, Sensory Integration and Allergies!!! I love being a Mom, to have fun and am always joking around! My job titles are: Wife, Mommy, Advocate, Friend, Maid, Cook, Self Employed Business Owner among many others!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

