Social Networking!


Believe it or not I was really against social networking in the beginning. I was invited to My Space but never joined. Then later I was invited to Facebook but never accepted the invitation till a year or two later. Now I love it!

I see social networking as a benefit. I get to see friends (past and present), family (near and far away) on a daily basis. I get to see their family grow, their accomplishments, their joys and even their pain at times. Many of these events I would never had been able to share with them had it not been for social networking.

Of course, there is balance in everything including the time that you live chat or physically spend with your family and friends to the information that you put out about yourself or your family on a social networking site. Some will share more then others. I happen to be an open book. I like to live my life this way and I find people coming to me with their most personal and intimidate details of their lives because they feel a level of comfort in my willingness to share.

I’ll discuss pretty much any topic on Facebook whether it be things going on in my family to more taboo subjects like politics, education, religion or sex. You know the stuff old timers tell you not to talk about!

For me, it’s an honest expression of who I am whether it be the nurturing mother, the friend with a crazy past, a loving wife, the advocate for all, the stressed out screaming lunatic who just dumped a pitcher of iced tea on her husband’s front seat of his car….

While I think social networking is great, it can apparently also sour a person’s opinion of another before the first “hello” or “affect the ability to be family”. At least that is what I have been told.

And although I don’t intentionally go around hurting people’s feelings I do have my strong beliefs and express them in various ways including social networking. You may choose to do the same. But don’t worry I won’t ever “unfriend” you unless it is under an extreme circumstance such as you are threatening my family, etc… Okay, I admit once I unfriended my mom because she pissed me off but then sent her a friend request later. Chalk that one up to mother daughter relationships!

However, I often do wonder why some people have sent me friend requests when they never even have said a Hello to me or commented on a picture. Example: The guy I lost my virginity too! But even he is still my friend. The only people I do not accept friend requests from are people I don’t know. Why? Because honestly I have a hard time keeping up with the people I do know.

My only warning would be if you post constant controversial articles and opinions on your wall in a consistent pattern don’t be surprised if someone writes you back with an opinion that may differ from yours. I am definitely one who has been known to post a controversial piece or two :). But on any given day you will see my wall filled with a variety of different subjects such as photos, blogs, humor, current events, educational and advocacy pieces, and lots of stuff about my children or animals about what they may have did or said that day!

In any event, Is social networking the right place for you?

Copyrighted 2011: danadogooder and DMT

About danadogooder

Happily married for 20 years except when he is pissing me off! ' Mommy of 3 boys, a yellow female lab named Curious, 2 kitties Trouble and Kornelia, and bird and fish! Yes, we have a Zoo! Love to cook, entertain, and travel. I give new meaning to, "You can't fight city hall" Cause I fought worse, "Yes, The Board of Ed! " I live in a houseful of ADHD, Dyslexia, Auditory Processing, Sensory Integration and Allergies!!! I love being a Mom, to have fun and am always joking around! My job titles are: Wife, Mommy, Advocate, Friend, Maid, Cook, Self Employed Business Owner among many others!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Social Networking!

  1. Dana Carney says:

    I am going through almost the same exact situation and I would love some input. I also never give up as far as my children are concerned.

Leave a Reply

