Firstborn: Decisions, Decisions…


A letter from the special education director arrived. I assume trying to cover the case managers footsteps. He stated that the purpose for the IEP meeting was for the team to share their individual thoughts to develop a plan for my son. He also assured me that the professional staff working with my son “do not meet to pre-determine his program or services for the following year.”
 
So why did the case manager make the remarks, “the district will share our recommendations with you at the meeting” and “Parents are not entitled to any information in advance of the meetings except for results of evaluations.” The special education director was full of crap. They already had discussed and been prompted on what services they would or would not provide. Not only did I know this because I was becoming quite saavy but because God had sent me to Jackson, N.J. about an hour and half from my home which introduced me to a man who MY district had contacted about MY son. What were the chances of that?  
 
Anyway, the case manager then made a phone call to my home to discuss the latest letter to her in which I requested that my son be evaluated for assistive technology. She stated that she would not be sending home a permission to evaluate form because the team was not recommending an assistive technology evaluation. Again, did the special education director think I was that naive’ to think that the child study team had not already pre-determined my son’s program and services for the following year?
 
I wasn’t letting go and I decided I would document the phone conversation between myself and the case manager.
 
In a letter dated May 19, 2005 I wrote, “As per our phone conversation on this past Tuesday, May 17 you stated that you would not be sending home a permission to evaluate form because “the team is not recommending an assistive technology evaluation.” Since I am suppose to be a part of the team I am unaware of when the team made this decision. If the school district is refusing an assistive technology evaluation please provide Prior Written Notice. You also stated that I would be informed of the teams recommendations at the meeting on May 27th. This is exactly why I asked for the recommendations prior to the meeting so that I could be an equal participant of the IEP team and review any data or programs that the school portion of the team has obviously had the opportunity to review and recommend.”
 
The case manager shot out another letter quickly to cover their behinds. In short she wrote, “I stated that I would not be sending home permission forms for you to sign because the team is not recommending an assisitive technology evaluation. We are not recommending an evlauation at this time, because we have not yet met to determine if your son needs an evaluation. It is not that the team made this decision without you, it is that the team has not yet made a decision.”   

 
At this point, I could do nothing but wait for the May 27th IEP meeting…
 
 
 Copyrighted 2011: danadogooder and DMT
About danadogooder

Happily married for 20 years except when he is pissing me off! ' Mommy of 3 boys, a yellow female lab named Curious, 2 kitties Trouble and Kornelia, and bird and fish! Yes, we have a Zoo! Love to cook, entertain, and travel. I give new meaning to, "You can't fight city hall" Cause I fought worse, "Yes, The Board of Ed! " I live in a houseful of ADHD, Dyslexia, Auditory Processing, Sensory Integration and Allergies!!! I love being a Mom, to have fun and am always joking around! My job titles are: Wife, Mommy, Advocate, Friend, Maid, Cook, Self Employed Business Owner among many others!
This entry was posted in Education, Parenting, Special Education and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

