Firstborn: Delay, Delay, Delay…


On May 5, 2005 the case manager sent a letter. It read,

“Enclosed are the test results for the assessments completed by our Learning Consultants. The written report corresponds to the results of the WIAT. As discussed one of the learning consultants will be present to interpret the results of the Woodcock Johnson and to answer your questions about both tests.” 

“I would also like to respond to your request for our recommendations about the Assistive Technology in advance of the IEP meeting on May 27, 2005. As we have worked in the past, the district will share our recommendations with you at the meeting. Parents are not entitled to any information in advance of the meetings except for results of evaluations. The purpose of the meeting is to discuss our thoughts about your sons’ needs.”

Hook, line and sinker she took my bait when I asked about her getting back to me about the team’s recommendations about Assistive Technology for my son. I knew they always had a meeting before the meeting, and that they would pre-determine my son’s program, related services, assistive technology, etc… More telling was her comment, “Parents are not entitled to any information in advance of the meetings except for results of evaluations.” They wanted parents showing up ill prepared so that they could take advantage of the already disadvantaged parent.        

I responded:

“Thank you for the test results from both learning consultants. However, I do not understand why the team would not want to share my son’s present level reports and the information discussed between school staff regarding assistive technology services for my son. The school team has all had the chance to discuss with you their recommendations prior to the meeting. I should have this same opportunity being that I am suppose to be an equal member. The only reason I can think that you would not want me to have this information is so that I can not properly prepare in advance. This is why I have requested a second meeting already because I will not be able to process and make informed decisions on the spot. To date, nobody has contacted me to set a second IEP date. In addition, if an assistive technology evaluation is to be done prior to the end of the school year it must be set up now. By waiting until May 27th leaves a slim chance that an evaluation if needed can be done by end of school year. I was hopeful that the team might have some good recommendations for assistive technology but since you are unwilling to share this information I feel the need to request an objective assistive technology evaluation to be done by end of school year. Please contact me of how we will proceed with this evaluation. It also saddens me that I thought we had taken our relationship to a higher level but the district still manages to throw roadblocks and obstacles in my way.”

Honestly, it was exactly what the school wanted. Procrastinate and delay!!! The less services they would have to give! Delay, delay, delay, it was all a big game to them…

Copyrighted 2011: danadogooder and DMT

About danadogooder

Happily married for 20 years except when he is pissing me off! ' Mommy of 3 boys, a yellow female lab named Curious, 2 kitties Trouble and Kornelia, and bird and fish! Yes, we have a Zoo! Love to cook, entertain, and travel. I give new meaning to, "You can't fight city hall" Cause I fought worse, "Yes, The Board of Ed! " I live in a houseful of ADHD, Dyslexia, Auditory Processing, Sensory Integration and Allergies!!! I love being a Mom, to have fun and am always joking around! My job titles are: Wife, Mommy, Advocate, Friend, Maid, Cook, Self Employed Business Owner among many others!
This entry was posted in Education, Parenting, Special Education and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

