Firstborn: The Best Christmas Present Ever…


I drove to the Board of Education meeting. I was nervous and took a wrong turn. I managed to get back on track and to calm myself down. I walked in looking cool, calm and collect.

 I walked to the room where they were having the meeting. The door was closed and there was a black curtain hung to block the view. I knocked. The business administrator came out the door. He was beat red and looked as if he was going to break out into a sweat any moment. He advised me that the meeting had started thirty minutes earlier and had become very heated. He said he strongly discouraged me from entering the room. I said, “But I have a presentation to make to the Board.” He said, “Look some people are very angry inside but it looks like your request is going to be approved. Just stay for the public portion and you can hear the vote.” I felt a bit hesitant to not enter the room. What if I stayed for the public portion and they did not approve it? What if I blow my chance to convince the board with my very detailed presentation? I wasn’t sure how to proceed but I listened to the business administrator’s request. I was a bit shocked at how heated the meeting had obviously become. I did not know what to think.

I went to sit in the audience. There was only a handful of people there. It was my first Board of Education meeting. Three days before Christmas, December 22, 2004. I waited as they went through the agenda. Then came the vote. They all voted, Yes. They did not show their cards of who was for it and who was against it. Anyway, they approved the vision therapy but they did not call it vision therapy. They refereed to it as “special services” and used my son’s initials. I did it. I finally did it. I rejoiced inside.

I arrived home. There hung a sign on the door between the mud room and kitchen. It had some people on it. One was a portrait of me. The other was a man with a gavel my son explained. Above, it said, “MOM WINS!” I said to my son, “How did you know I won before I even got here?” He replied, “God told me!” I couldn’t believe my ears. I said, “Really?” He shook his head, Yes! I thought to myself, we’ll have to discuss this more later. For now I just wanted to celebrate and dance around my kitchen with my husband and children.

It had been three years and two months now since the battle began and this was my second huge victory. Perhaps I could sleep more then four hours tonight. That was the amount of sleep I had learned to live on. Perhaps I could really enjoy our Christmas together as a family with no thoughts of the school. No, I thought I couldn’t enjoy Christmas yet because I had to send a letter to the case manager. And I would have to hand deliver it the next day before Christmas break advising her of the board’s approval of vision therapy and asking for us to re-covene in an IEP meeting so we could finally write the goals and add the service as the child study team had promised.

All I knew was this was the best Christmas present ever…

Copyrighted 2011: danadogooder and DMT

About danadogooder

Happily married for 20 years except when he is pissing me off! ' Mommy of 3 boys, a yellow female lab named Curious, 2 kitties Trouble and Kornelia, and bird and fish! Yes, we have a Zoo! Love to cook, entertain, and travel. I give new meaning to, "You can't fight city hall" Cause I fought worse, "Yes, The Board of Ed! " I live in a houseful of ADHD, Dyslexia, Auditory Processing, Sensory Integration and Allergies!!! I love being a Mom, to have fun and am always joking around! My job titles are: Wife, Mommy, Advocate, Friend, Maid, Cook, Self Employed Business Owner among many others!
This entry was posted in Education, Parenting, Special Education and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

