Firstborn: Your Guardian Angel


Thursday, October 28, 2004 8:47 AM I drafted an e-mail to the superintendent. It read, “I have patiently awaited your response to my written request on October 7th. I included all the financial information for the vision therapy as per your request and a list of needs identified in the most recent evaluations since the child study team would not go over them at the actual IEP meeting. A copy of my letter to you was also sent to the special education director and case manager.”

“As you are aware the day of the IEP meeting the team and your board attorney were unwilling to write goals and objectives together as a team. The district was fully aware of why I called this IEP meeting well in advance and agreed to meet. They also knew I had hired a babysitter. After we were in the meeting they decided to postponed the meeting. They stated that I must supply the district with the needs list for my son and once I did this they would in turn write goals and objectives within five days and have it back to me for me review. I never got these goals and objectives back in the five days as promised. Yet I have done everything the district has asked of me. I finally received a letter from the case manager in my son’s backpack yesterday on the nineteenth day after my written request. She stated that she now wants to have a meeting between the two of us stating she now has feedback regarding goals and objectives from the Learning Consultant and Occupational Therapist. I am very confused as to why we now need a meeting between the two of us and why I was not provided the goals and objectives list as promised. She also states she still does not have an answer for me as to whether you are approving the vision therapy because she is still awaiting you to get back to her. I left a message on your secretary’s  voice mail this past Friday asking her to remind you to get back to me.” 

“I think I have clearly provided you with information that the school has been aware of my son’s visual processing deficits since 2002. The reports also clearly show how it is impacting my son’s education and denying him a Free Appropriate Public Education by the district not providing this service. Each day that goes by is another day my child is suffering. Over the years I have been the one to educate the team to what my child’s needs and I have always been right on target. He is a child that has already loss much time in the district’s wrong placement of him in a multiply disabled program for one year. This was the year where my child was placed with low functioning children with behaviors. Then in his first grade year the team again made grave mistakes by not changing his reading program as per his needs. I had addressed my concerns that year to the team as early as October of that year. By the end of the year the rest of the team (besides me) wanted to place my son in a Behavior Disabilities Class. Yet all of the documents I had showed them indicated that he had a severe reading disorder. So at this point the district tied my hands and by forcing me to file for Due Process. It was at the beginning of the Due Process when the district agreed to provide my son what he needed because the district knew that their own documents supported my requests for him.”

“Eventually, the district also agreed to fund a developmental vision assessment and the findings clearly show how my son’s visual processing disorder affects his ability to access the curriculum. It would be appropriate to write goals and objectives and related  services in the area of visual processing and for him to increase his abilities to visually process the material he is being asked to read in order for him to access the curriculum by providing remediation for his unique and individual needs. The reports clearly show how my child needs this service and how it affects his education. Again I am waiting for the district to respond to a service that my child clearly needs. As times ticks away my child is denied a Free Appropriate Public Education. I am asking at this point for you to respond to this second written request as an urgent matter.”

The superintendent had his secretary call me to let me know he had approved the vision therapy for my son. He also responded to my e-mail in writing just before he left his office the next day on Friday, October 29, 2004 at 3:36 PM. It stated he was sorry for the delay and yes he had approved the vision therapy. The next morning he had a massive heart attack and died. I received the news via a phone call on Halloween morning which was that Sunday. I was devastated. He was only here a VERY short time and I knew he was my son’s Guardian Angel…

Copyrighted 2011: danadogooder and DMT

About danadogooder

Happily married for 20 years except when he is pissing me off! ' Mommy of 3 boys, a yellow female lab named Curious, 2 kitties Trouble and Kornelia, and bird and fish! Yes, we have a Zoo! Love to cook, entertain, and travel. I give new meaning to, "You can't fight city hall" Cause I fought worse, "Yes, The Board of Ed! " I live in a houseful of ADHD, Dyslexia, Auditory Processing, Sensory Integration and Allergies!!! I love being a Mom, to have fun and am always joking around! My job titles are: Wife, Mommy, Advocate, Friend, Maid, Cook, Self Employed Business Owner among many others!
This entry was posted in Education, Parenting and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Firstborn: Your Guardian Angel

  1. Pingback: Firstborn: Your Guardian Angel | Γονείς σε Δράση

Leave a Reply

