The Birth of our kittens!


James 1:17 – Every good and perfect gift is from above

So simple but so true. After giving birth to my three son’s I really understood the the power of this statement.

Yesterday my children and I got to witness the birth of our four new kittens, well sort of, moments after….  And no matter it be the birth of a child or the birth of a kitten I am always in awe of God’s miracles. Any birth is fascinating to me! My children and husband are just as fascinated too!

So two weeks ago I came home from a Board of Ed meeting followed by a trip to the diner. When I arrived home, two of my children were sleeping and the teen was on the computer. I couldn’t find my husband. I eventually realized he was in the bathroom with the door closed. That was very unusual because there are never closed doors in my home even when someone is in the bathroom. When I opened the door my husband turned quickly and was crouched in the corner. I was like, “What the hell are you doing?” He said, he did not realize it was me and turned around holding a cat in his arms. Yes, ANOTHER cat. He had just brought home two back in May that we kept. We also already have a dog and four birds too!

Anyway, my husband said he drove his work truck that he hadn’t driven for awhile that day. He had been working pretty steady at his “real job” and plus there had been snow so he hadn’t been driving the straight truck that we own. In any event, one hundred miles later when his truck was empty he realized that there was a pregnant cat in the front of the bed of his truck. Or at least this was his story. He came home, Bathed her twice. Clipped her nails and made a makeshift home for her in our master bath.

So of course, being the animal lovers we are we kept her! She was a gray Tiger Cat. We named her Tiger Lily. My three boys were thrilled. They’d fill the whole house with animals yet they aren’t very good at taking care of their basic needs. You know feeding them, changing litter boxes, walking the dog, etc… But I will say they are VERY good at LOVING them up. Each day all of our animals are each individually loved up by each one of us. Love is never lacking in our home!

So anyway we took bets on Tiger Lily’s due date. We found out cats are pregnant approximately sixty five days. But did we get Tiger Lily on Day forty or sixty? Who knew???  My middle child and I said she would deliver on March 5th. My eldest son said March 8th. My youngest son said March 10th and my husband said March 17th. The youngest won the bet! Four kittens were born on March 10th, 2011.

Funny thing was I had decided to keep my two elder children home from school. My older son had been taking a four hour lifeguard course after school each day and was getting burnt out. I hadn’t been feeling up to par with my breathing, I have mild asthma and am allergic to a slew of things including CATS! My youngest is home always anyway because I home school him. This was going to be a perfect home school experience for all of us I might add. So anyway we were all home, EXCEPT Dad!

The boys came downstairs and said, “Mommy I think Tiger Lily is in labor.” Tiger Lily had been crying. I told them to stay out of the bathroom because I didn’t want them to invade her privacy. After all, she was a feral cat getting use to an entire new lifestyle on top of being pregnant. She’d only been in our home two weeks.

Within the hour, my boys came back downstairs and said she had delivered at least three kittens, maybe five in the litter box. Yes, although we had her own private birthing room set up she chose to go in the litter box. Perhaps, because the litter box has a door that closes shut so the entire area is enclosed. They were so adorable. I tried calling my husband but he wasn’t answering. I thought maybe because I had hung up on him earlier? I continued to try unsuccessfully. Now I was pissed! So I then called the animal hospital who I had consulted with before. I told them the story of how she had delivered in the litter box. They asked if it was clumping litter and I said, “Yes.” They said I needed to get them out of there as soon as possible because the clumping litter could be “DEADLY” to the kittens. But they were concerned because mom was feral cat and therefore could attack. They said maybe I could coax her out with food.

See about feral cats at: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Feral_cat#Feral_versus_stray

I called the boys all into the room and told them what the vet had said and then asked my fifteen year old if he was up for the challenge. He immediately agreed. Yes, I’m so brave offering my son to be the one to be attacked since Dad was not home. But I did make him gear up in long pants, a long sleeve heavy jacket and Dad’s leather work gloves. I told the younger boys to wait outside. The plan was to move mom, then the kittens and I would grab the litter box. I had my camera too just in case I could snap a quick picture. My son picked up mom gently trying to break the latch of the kittens. They were less then an hour old and nursing. He did it. Mom did the inner cat growl. But once my son placed the first kitten back with his mom she knew we were there to help. The fourth kitten he rescued was the one I snapped two quick photos of. I grabbed the litter box and we left the room as mom settled her kittens back in to nurse again. My husband arrived home less the one minute after our great rescue. Typical male! And turns out he hadn’t been ignoring me. He accidentally left his cellular phone at work.

I told my husband the story and next thing you know he had to go hold a kitten. His face lit up and he smiled like a little kid. Yeah, he was worse then the kid’s because they knew they were not suppose to pick up the kittens.

Thank goodness despite the birth and the rescue  we still made it in the nick of time because we had to run out the door for life-guarding class at that very moment. As I opened the door my son said, “Mom there is a dog in our yard!” We were now in a huge rush. I turned to my husband and told him. He looked at me without missing a beat and said, “Sorry we are not taking any dogs in today!”

Now we have in our home my husband and I, our three sons, one dog, four birds, and now seven cats (the kittens can not leave mom till between six to eight weeks but we are definately keeping at least one)! Yes, it is like our own private zoo. But we are grateful for we know, Every good and perfect gift has been sent to us from above……
Copyrighted 2011: danadogooder and DMT

About danadogooder

Happily married for 20 years except when he is pissing me off! ' Mommy of 3 boys, a yellow female lab named Curious, 2 kitties Trouble and Kornelia, and bird and fish! Yes, we have a Zoo! Love to cook, entertain, and travel. I give new meaning to, "You can't fight city hall" Cause I fought worse, "Yes, The Board of Ed! " I live in a houseful of ADHD, Dyslexia, Auditory Processing, Sensory Integration and Allergies!!! I love being a Mom, to have fun and am always joking around! My job titles are: Wife, Mommy, Advocate, Friend, Maid, Cook, Self Employed Business Owner among many others!
This entry was posted in Kittens and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Birth of our kittens!

  1. I love this story. It’ s so lovely. They are so cute too. You did a wonderful thing – I would have been petrified.

    • danadogooder says:

      Thank you! I was petrified and that is why I had to rely on my brave fifteen year old! 🙂 So far all kittens and mommy are doing well. We have a heater in the room to keep it at 80 degrees which is what they recommend and have increased mom’s food intake so she can keep up with the nursing. This has certainly been a learning experience!

  2. Michele D. says:

    Adorable little critters, I may add….

  3. Pingback: Questions And Answers On Cat Care Tips Kitten

Leave a Reply

