Firstborn: I Pledge of of Allegiance to the Flag….


Okay, so I know I had enough going on with the school system but one day I happened to notice this paper in my son’s backpack. It was a “new” version of The Pledge of Allegiance. I think I almost had a stroke. Now the school system had gone too far… I was pissed. Would they now re-write History too?

I spoke to my son. He had known his Pledge of Allegiance since pre-school. He told me he was now getting confused between the two versions. It probably confused children who didn’t have learning disabilities too. I explained to my son that there was only one version of the Pledge of Allegiance and that mommy was going to look into this.

Okay, so I calmed down and grabbed the communication book and politely wrote, “What is this other version of The Pledge of Allegiance? Thanks!”

The next morning I also asked a few other parents that I ran into if they had seen this new pledge in their child’s backpack. They looked at me clueless. The one mother promised to check but a week later she still hadn’t gone in her daughter’s backpack. I could relate to being a teacher at times, because as much trouble as I’ve had with the school system, parents can be just as bad. How can a parent not look in their second graders backpack for an entire week? It just seemed unreal to me.

The teacher answered, “In social studies part of the curriculum is having the children understand the meaning of the pledge that they say everyday. The children learned yesterday what the words mean. Now they are practicing this version every morning so the children can try and memorize it. A tradition on field day is that the second graders lead the entire school in both pledges.”

What she met by learning the words was instead of saying, I Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag…. they would have the children say, I Promise to be true to the flag…

I thought to myself whatever happened to old fashioned teaching? Did they have to dumb everything down?

I wrote back, “My son has known and recited his Pledge of Allegiance since pre-school and now he is really getting confused saying it half the right way and half this other version.”

She never replied back.

I called the school and spoke to the Principal and told her to please inform the teacher my son would not be saying any other version of the Pledge of Allegiance. I also said, this is MY choice so if anyone has a problem with that please instruct them to talk to me and not my son. I really didn’t care about their curriculum. I thought it was stupid and disrespectful. Had I really wanted to make an issue I lived in a military town and could have contacted the United States Army but I just made the decision for my child and we talked about it.

As far as I was concerned, They could kiss my American butt!

Copyrighted 2011: danadogooder and DMT

About danadogooder

Happily married for 20 years except when he is pissing me off! ' Mommy of 3 boys, a yellow female lab named Curious, 2 kitties Trouble and Kornelia, and bird and fish! Yes, we have a Zoo! Love to cook, entertain, and travel. I give new meaning to, "You can't fight city hall" Cause I fought worse, "Yes, The Board of Ed! " I live in a houseful of ADHD, Dyslexia, Auditory Processing, Sensory Integration and Allergies!!! I love being a Mom, to have fun and am always joking around! My job titles are: Wife, Mommy, Advocate, Friend, Maid, Cook, Self Employed Business Owner among many others!
This entry was posted in Parenting and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Firstborn: I Pledge of of Allegiance to the Flag….

  1. Joey (soon 5* - 0, again!) TOMASELLA says:

    Lol…. “Such an EMOTIONAL WOMAN!!!” .. familiar words Dana?

    JT

  2. Donna L. says:

    Unbelievable!

Leave a Reply

