To Pee, or not to Pee: that is the question?


So having three children can really take a toll on your body. And I’m not talking weight gain. My weight gain is from stress, not childbirth. But that is a whole other story.

My first delivery I was in labor way to long. SIXTY TWO and a HALF HOURS! They never should have let me wait that long. And after the delivery my bladder was distended. They decided to put a catheter in me and when they did 1000cc of urine came out. Normally the bladder can hold as much as 300-400 cc of urine before needing to empty. My bladder was holding more then double that. To make matters worse, I developed an infection and therefore could not be with my baby for twenty four hours. That was worse then having a catheter in. However, I’d walk down the hall holding my bag of pee as it was a pocketbook to visit my son through the window. And although the infection cleared up I was sent home and remained on a catheter for a week after my delivery. 

In any event, during my second pregnancy I soon learned if I coughed, sneezed or laughed too hard I unexpectedly would pee. Unfortunately, I learned the hard way when one day I peed on my co-worker Fred’s chair. I sat there thinking, Oh my God how will I explain the wet spot on his chair. Being the abnormally honest person I am I said, “Fred, I’m sorry but I just peed on your chair.” Freddy being a good natured guy said, “Don’t worry about it!”as he chuckled! Freddy always had thought I was a good looking woman and I’m sure it was a very attractive moment for him!

In any event, kegels and all I was sure my bladder had endured way too much stress after my firstborn son. Read more about kegels at:  

http://www.mayoclinic.com/health/kegel-exercises/WO00119

So my problem continued and although it infrequently happened it always happened at the most inopportune times (ex: Freddy’s chair). And the more and more I talked to other women I found out so many had the same problem, much of them much worse then my own situation.

Interestingly, up to thirty percent of women experience incontinence during their lifetime. Women who have three or more children are at the greatest risk. That was me! Women who were given Oxytocin/ Pitocin to induce labor their labor were at higher risk. Again, I matched the criteria. Highest on the list for risk of urinary leakage are gymnasts, softball, volleyball, and basketball players. Okay, I haven’t been a gymnast for a very long time but at one time I was. Being overweight and aging also contributed to incontinence. Yes, they were describing me. This was all in addition to my sixty two and a half hour childbirth.

I decided to do something about it. I decided to get a sling for my bladder. The procedure is done as a same day surgery. In short, a sling made from a synthetic mesh is placed under the urethra which acts like a hammock, lifting and compressing the urethra, preventing leaks.

First, I would have to go for Urodynamics testing. This involved me being lifted in a hydraulic chair six feet up in the air, expected to pee, with a man between my legs. This testing would help the doctor to determine basic bladder and urethral functioning such as is the bladder contracting abnormally (detruser instability) or not emptying properly (retention), etc… Once this was determined I was scheduled for surgery. The sling was inserted and I could be released as soon as I could urinate on my own. Ironically, a woman twice my age who had her surgery just after mine was released before me. I was unable to pee. Again, I was sent home with a catheter. I was told to relax. But how could I when I was running a party for 80 people at my son’s school for Halloween a day and a half after my surgery? Yes, I disobeyed the doctor’s orders. And I suffered because of it. My doctor was PISSED, no pun intended. My bladder and catheter bag had filled with blood and my bladder had to be irrigated. I was also started on medication, Flomax. After this I tried so hard to stay still but it was really hard for me being the hyper person I am. Three long weeks I remained on the catheter but eventually everything started to function again properly. And I no longer had to worry about embarrassing moments. The sling was a success.

To Pee, or not to Pee: that is the question? I chose not to pee!
 
 

Copyrighted 2011: danadogooder and DMT

About danadogooder

Happily married for 20 years except when he is pissing me off! ' Mommy of 3 boys, a yellow female lab named Curious, 2 kitties Trouble and Kornelia, and bird and fish! Yes, we have a Zoo! Love to cook, entertain, and travel. I give new meaning to, "You can't fight city hall" Cause I fought worse, "Yes, The Board of Ed! " I live in a houseful of ADHD, Dyslexia, Auditory Processing, Sensory Integration and Allergies!!! I love being a Mom, to have fun and am always joking around! My job titles are: Wife, Mommy, Advocate, Friend, Maid, Cook, Self Employed Business Owner among many others!
This entry was posted in Health and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to To Pee, or not to Pee: that is the question?

  1. Joey (soon 5* - 0, again!) TOMASELLA says:

    Too FUNNY!!! When we are in a car or restaurant , can you please empty your bladder PRIOR to meeting me , and those that may be with me?? I think it would be fair to say it would be APPRECIATED….lol.

    JT

  2. danadogooder says:

    But I no longer have the problem! Leave it to a man to not read the ending of a story! 🙂

Leave a Reply

