Second Born: The birth of our second child!


Our second baby was stubborn right from in utero! I went for my ultra sound and of course being the advance planner I am, I wanted to know the sex. However, the baby would not reveal their sex!

I always loved being pregnant! It was the best time of my life. I always felt extremely sexy and also was extremely horny as well. I even wore sexy lingerie from time to time till the end of my pregnancy.

I was due February 5th, 2000. However, my stubborn baby decided they were not ready to see the world! I was now overdue. I hadn’t really expected that because my firstborn had arrived right on time. Plus, I am always right on top of things, a planner, keeping everything in order and on time. Well the baby had it’s own ideas!

I decided we would try to naturally induce the baby. My first route is always natural holistic approaches. My husband calls it my voo doo remedies. Well at least these voo doo remedies wouldn’t be so bad for neither of us. Sex everyday to increase the hormone called oxytocin, which causes the uterus to contract. And nipple stimulation which also is another way of increasing oxytocin when we weren’t having sex. After all we had a four year old son by now and we couldn’t stay in bed all the time.

So much for natural remedies this baby wasn’t coming out!!!

At midnight on February 16th I was admitted into the hospital. They would induce me. I remember the doctor saying she was going to insert SoftCerv in me and I was thinking of soft serve ice cream. The drug is actually called Dinoprostone or Cervidil. It is placed on a string and inserted into the vagina to soften the cervix. I was suppose to NOT get up. That was almost impossible for me!!! So I plugged in some headphones and was listening to music and dancing in my bed even when the labor pains started. I don’t think many woman are as joyous as me when going into labor.

 My husband whipped out a roasted pepper and fresh mozzarella sandwich. It looked so yummy! I should have known better after my first labor and delivery that I was a puker. I didn’t choose a very good meal then either, eating Shrimp Fra Diavolo while in labor. Well I only took a few bites of my husband’s sandwich. I hadn’t eaten for quite some time. How could he do that to me anyway?

 My labor pains continued all night and all day but I was not dilating. I was only still at 2 centimeters. By this point the doctor decided to give me Pitocin. I had Pitocin during my first pregnancy too. It is a synthetic form of the hormone oxytocin and administered through an IV to improve the contractions and help with dilation. After starting me on the pitocin the doctor said it would be another four to eight hours because woman will usually dilate one to two centimeters an hour. But to everyone’s surprise about forty minutes later I delivered our second son.

My husband said as soon as he saw the top of the baby’s head crowning he knew it was a boy and was hoping I would not be disappointed because he knew I had always wanted a girl. Are you kidding me? I fell in love with my son immediately. He was perfect. Dark skin and a head full of hair.

 I had my older son on standby and he entered the delivery room less then thirty minutes after me giving birth. I told him he had a little brother. He unwrapped the baby and checked to make sure he really did have a penis! He then checked his feet to see if he also had web toes like him. He did not. It was so cute the things he thought of at age four. He then turned to both me and his Dad and said, “I like this baby!!!” Of course, we smiled and had our first family picture taken.

The staff was calling me the “Miracle Mom” in the delivery room because NOBODY could believe that I could dilate that fast and deliver a baby. Guess they didn’t know me too well! But “Miracle Mom” was the name that stuck with me for the rest of my time there.

We left the hospital in a blizzard. Same as our first son and later to discover same as our third son too. Of course, they became our “Blizzard Boys”.

I remember arriving home and sitting down on the couch. I had my baby in one arm and my four year old in my other and thought to myself, “IT DOESN’T GET ANY BETTER THEN THIS!”

Copyrighted 2011: danadogooder and DMT

About danadogooder

Happily married for 20 years except when he is pissing me off! ' Mommy of 3 boys, a yellow female lab named Curious, 2 kitties Trouble and Kornelia, and bird and fish! Yes, we have a Zoo! Love to cook, entertain, and travel. I give new meaning to, "You can't fight city hall" Cause I fought worse, "Yes, The Board of Ed! " I live in a houseful of ADHD, Dyslexia, Auditory Processing, Sensory Integration and Allergies!!! I love being a Mom, to have fun and am always joking around! My job titles are: Wife, Mommy, Advocate, Friend, Maid, Cook, Self Employed Business Owner among many others!
This entry was posted in Parenting, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Second Born: The birth of our second child!

  1. Joey (soon 5* - 0, again!) TOMASELLA says:

    Hey Dogooder , “I am at a loss of words”.. While I do know you and none of this info really is surprising to me , i find your honesty to be “Completely Overwhelming”… You leave no stone unturned. Your son’s seem too have “bonded” immediately??

    It amazes me how you were able to recall these Inducer’s .. You recall all , as if it was yesterday… Again , “It’s your honesty that sets you apart!” Your willingness to be frank , and open really keep’s this reader coming back..

    JT

Leave a Reply

