Firstborn: Mommy is getting smarter!


I spoke with the principal regarding the music teachers comments. All of the professionals that we were seeing agreed that the music teacher had overstepped her boundaries and that her comments were unprofessional. I was relieved to hear this because I didn’t want to come off as an over-reactive parent.

However, the principal did ask me to write a note to have my son removed from the music class along with the child psychologist’s recommendations and to NOT include the incident with the music teacher. I complied with his wishes.

I also wrote to him privately. I included in my note to him that my son had seen two neuro developmental pediatricians, a child psychologist, and two child study teams over the past two and half years.  All had acknowledged that my son had various disabilities including sensory integration dysfunction, a language based disorder, Attention Hyperactivity Disorder, an unidentified  learning disability and severe allergies. I told him  that I thought the music teacher had overstepped her boundaries and that her comments were unprofessional and that the professionals we were seeing thought so too. I wrote, “Maybe it would be a good time to bring up to regular education teachers that either they should read up on or do a workshop on kid’s with disabilities since they will have to deal with these children in mainstream situations” I also wrote, ” I am not intending to start negative relationships between myself and the school however, what happened was wrong
 and definitely should be acknowledged as wrong behavior on the teacher’s part by the school.”

All I received back was a note from the principal that said, “The doctor’s request to have your son removed from music class due to his noise sensitivities is being addressed by his case manager. I can assure you that our child study team personnel as well as our regular education personnel are working in your son’s behalf and will continue to do so”

I also requested at this time that my son actually be mainstreamed more for some academic time.

In the meantime, I found an on-line support group called iepguide@yahoogroups.com that was comprised of both parents of children with disabilities and professionals. I continued my own research trying to find the answers for my son.

I then wrote a letter regarding the upcoming annual review IEP meeting. I wrote that I would agree to still meet in March with the following provision that we would not decide my son’s placement for next year until I was able to view all the districts programs that were available. This way I could see what placement would be appropriate for my son. However, I was willing to discuss the goals for next year.

A few days later I got a call from the case manager. They would allow me to view the language based learning disabilities class and the behavior disabilities class which was they were recommending my son be placed for next year. They also had developed a behavior modification plan for my son.

The case manager set up an appointment for me to review the language based learning disabilities class that Friday. However, the time that she scheduled me to view the class I was only able to view snack time, a group activity to make pudding, and an assembly. 

I wrote the case manager and told her I had not been able to get a feel for the class as I was not able to view any of the academic time in the language based learning disabilities class. I also informed her that after serious consideration and the advice of my son’s psychologist I would like to postpone the IEP meeting until both the psychologist and myself could view all the placements available to my son and the proposed behavior plan.

I then received a phone call from the Special Education Director stating that I was not allowed to “shop around” for programs for my son and that I could only go view the behavior disabilities program since that was the child study teams recommendation. He informed me also that the case manager had made a mistake and that I should have never been able to view the language based learning disabilities class.

I wrote, “I am still a little confused of your decision not to let me see the other programs that might fit my son’s needs. It was not decided by the IEP team that my son was going into the behavior disabilities program for next year so that leaves other options for us to consider. I want my son to be in the least restrictive environment and I do not think by starting at the most restrictive placement is the place to start. Since  am suppose to be an equal member of the IEP team and the child study team has seen the other placements to make their educated opinions, I would like the opportunity to do the same. I do not think as you said that this is “shopping around.” I would consider that as being an equal part of the team who is trying to make an informed decision. As I also told you in our phone call I did also speak to the County Supervisor of Child Study who also informs me that I should be allowed to view all the programs with my son’s  psychologist. This is a simple request to be met and I am asking that you re-consider your decision so we can not further delay my next meeting for the discussion of placement. In addition, I do not think this would violate the children’s privacy (I am not taking pictures nor asking for the children’s names) for me to view the other classes no more then it is for me to view the behavior disabilities class since it has not yet been determined where my son is going. I am asking for your quick response on this matter.”

I left out the part of when I contacted the County Supervisor of Child Study regarding my Special Education Directors remarks that she said, “That man makes me want to vomit!”

In any event, MOMMY WAS GETTING SMARTER!

Copyrighted 2011: danadogooder and DMT

About danadogooder

Happily married for 20 years except when he is pissing me off! ' Mommy of 3 boys, a yellow female lab named Curious, 2 kitties Trouble and Kornelia, and bird and fish! Yes, we have a Zoo! Love to cook, entertain, and travel. I give new meaning to, "You can't fight city hall" Cause I fought worse, "Yes, The Board of Ed! " I live in a houseful of ADHD, Dyslexia, Auditory Processing, Sensory Integration and Allergies!!! I love being a Mom, to have fun and am always joking around! My job titles are: Wife, Mommy, Advocate, Friend, Maid, Cook, Self Employed Business Owner among many others!
This entry was posted in Parenting and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Firstborn: Mommy is getting smarter!

  1. Michele D. says:

    LOVE IT!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

