Firstborn: I’ve found the answer!


So I was handed a document and asked to sign off on it so services could begin. I read over it. There were goals and summaries included. It seemed like a good plan. My son would start the pre-school program in the public school system five mornings a week and I decided I would still keep him at the nursery school two afternoons a week.

I really liked his new pre-school teacher. And he enjoyed going to both schools. Now both schools would work with my son.

One day the pre-school teacher from the public school teacher approached me that she believed my son had Sensory Integration Dysfunction. I sat and listened. My son seemed to fit the description. Ahh, we were onto something!!!!

So the next day I enclosed the following note in my son’s backpack: “The one thing I forgot to ask you about sensory integration is: How is this described??? Is it a handicap, disease or disorder? Thanks! “

She wrote back: “It is not a  handicap, disease or disorder. Everyone to some degree has sensory integration. Some more then others. Your son’s sensory needs would be discussed in an occupational therapists’ / physical therapists’ report. Usually their recommendations/ accommodations for him would be included in his IEP. In addition, his sensory needs may be mentioned in someone else’s report in his IEP (like the learning consultant.)”

Okay, so I went and looked back but turns out there were no reports that were ever given to me. (To this day there are no formal reports from this time that exist in his file). There were only one paragraph summaries: a social summary, observation/ functional assessment, occupational therapy evaluation summary and a mention of the Hackensack Medical Center reports all attached to the “Initial IEP conference”.  So what do I do? Go to the internet…

I actually found an online support group for Sensory Integration Dysfunction, the research of a woman by the name of A. Jean Ayres who had done much work on the subject and a book called, “The Out of Sync Child” by Carol Kranowitz.   

I read and read: Does your child have difficulty regulating sensory input that can lead to devastating consequences in daily functioning, social relationships, family relationships, behavioral challenges, regulating emotions, and learning?

Do you ever wonder why your child is an excessive risk taker, covers their ears to certain noises,  doesn’t like to be touched, is a messy or fussy eater, won’t wear certain clothing, wants all their shirt tags cut out, hates seams on their socks, can’t seem to get to sleep, has meltdowns around crowds?

This is it! I’ve found the answer!!!! OR DID I????
Copyrighted 2011: danadogooder and DMT

About danadogooder

Happily married for 20 years except when he is pissing me off! ' Mommy of 3 boys, a yellow female lab named Curious, 2 kitties Trouble and Kornelia, and bird and fish! Yes, we have a Zoo! Love to cook, entertain, and travel. I give new meaning to, "You can't fight city hall" Cause I fought worse, "Yes, The Board of Ed! " I live in a houseful of ADHD, Dyslexia, Auditory Processing, Sensory Integration and Allergies!!! I love being a Mom, to have fun and am always joking around! My job titles are: Wife, Mommy, Advocate, Friend, Maid, Cook, Self Employed Business Owner among many others!
This entry was posted in Parenting and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Firstborn: I’ve found the answer!

  1. JoAnne Hoekstra says:

    continue….

Leave a Reply

