Backing up the story: “”The Husband”


So my first blog started out with my firstborn son but I should back up a bit. Where did this child come from anyway???

Let’s see. I had been living with a boyfriend for about a year. My father had never stepped foot into our apartment not once for that entire year because he did not approve. Then one day Don and I had an awful fight. My dad was there in a heartbeat. I pretty much left all my belongings in the apartment except my clothes and moved out. I moved back to my parents home. I had been out since I was 17. I was now 20.

The next couple of weeks were a whirlwind. I started seeing, “Nick the Greek”. He was much older then me and knew how to treat a girl taking me to nice restaurants and even a trip down to Ocean City Maryland. However, I was still down and depressed because although I was having fun with Nick I knew it wouldn’t last. So one night my friend Maria calls me and invites me to celebrate her 21st birthday at, “The Jetty” in Bloomfield. They were going to see a show. A male strip show. Honestly, I was not interested. I was never into going to clubs so much as a show like that. But it was an important birthday and she was my friend so she convinced me to go. I was still underage but I got in.

So what did I do when I got there? DRANK HEAVILY! I was wasted. Not falling down drunk. I never got wasted to the point where I didn’t know what I was doing all together and I was an experienced partier anyway.

 So after the show we went into the bar area which was open to everyone, men and women. I guess a great idea. The men could all hook up with the horny women coming from the show. So I sat down, ordered a drink and then saw the owner of The Jetty’s son who I went to school with. I went to say, “Hello”! When I got back to my seat, there was this muscular looking Italian guy wearing a Guinea T sitting in the seat next to me. So I remember saying to him, “Are you a stripper?” to which he replied, “No!” I then went on to say. “Well you should be!!!” LOL! We then started talking. He had just gotten off work and was suppose to meet a co-worker. Also turns out he was working for a company that my grandfather had lent money to the owners and we knew alot of the same people. Next thing I know he said, “Can I kiss you?” I was like, “Sure!” And we started kissing. Now my friends were looking over at me like, Who the hell is Dana kissing?

A little later my now husband offered to take me to breakfast because he knew I was in no condition to drive. In lieu, of his offer I boldly said, “How about if we go back to your place?” I think he was pretty shocked but he did not refuse the offer. The next morning I woke up next to him and had these random thoughts:

 1) I think his name is Anthony.

 2) Damn he has a great body!

3) My parents are going to kill me moving back home and not coming home all night.

In any event, he dropped me off back at my car, asked for my number, and we spoke the next evening. The night after that we got together and were together every night after. He told me he loved me the first week. We were engaged 4 months later. Bought a house together after being together 10 months. Lived together for a year and a half before getting married and have now been married for 20 plus years. We would have been married sooner but my parents persuaded us to wait a bit longer.

In the end there are two things I always like to say to my husband now:

1) Damn, I must have been good that first night! 🙂

2) This is really like a blonde joke. A blonde attempts to do a one night stand and here she is still married to him 20 years later.

Copyrighted 2011: danadogooder and DMT

About danadogooder

Happily married for 20 years except when he is pissing me off! ' Mommy of 3 boys, a yellow female lab named Curious, 2 kitties Trouble and Kornelia, and bird and fish! Yes, we have a Zoo! Love to cook, entertain, and travel. I give new meaning to, "You can't fight city hall" Cause I fought worse, "Yes, The Board of Ed! " I live in a houseful of ADHD, Dyslexia, Auditory Processing, Sensory Integration and Allergies!!! I love being a Mom, to have fun and am always joking around! My job titles are: Wife, Mommy, Advocate, Friend, Maid, Cook, Self Employed Business Owner among many others!
This entry was posted in Marriage, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Backing up the story: “”The Husband”

  1. There is no such thing as coincidence. The universe offers us opportunities. We have free will to either accept or decline. I’m so glad for you both that you accepted your friend’s invitation. That put you exactly where you needed to be. The only thing that is a little perplexing to me: You chose an Italian over a Greek (who knew how to treat a lady)? Well, as long as the relationship is based on love and mutual respect with a healthy dose of lust, it doesn’t matter what his nationality is.

  2. maria says:

    Well, first i would like say,,,, uhhhhmmm where is my thank you……lol and second you forgot to add what you were wearing, a very sexy white leather outfit,…… anywho I am so glad fate stepped in ( fate being me)…….and told you to go out ….. love ya maria

  3. danadogooder says:

    Well turns out my husband was half Italian and half Spanish with a dab of Russian in his bloodline. When I met him I just thought he looked Italian. I guess the thing that saves him is that he was born in the U.S.A. and does not have the off the boat mentality. 2o plus years married I can honestly say I love him more then ever and he is really a good husband and daddy. And all these years later we still lust for each other too! P.S. As far as the Greek as a 20 year old I was impressed with all his talk, wining and dining. He probably wouldn’t impress me now! LOL!

  4. Melissa says:

    I LOVE this, it’s great! Beautiful story!……..Fate will definitely step in when you least expect it. It brought Grant and I together again after all those years. Things happen when they’re meant to happen!

    • danadogooder says:

      Did you make the move on Grant too? LOL!

      • Melissa says:

        Well, the night he came over after about 10 years of not talking I did ask him to stay….. For good conversation of course!! LOL Had it not been for a very good mutual friend of ours we would probably have separate lives today!

  5. danadogooder says:

    And instead of separate lives you now have four kids! 🙂

  6. danadogooder says:

    I love a happy ending!

  7. Joey (soon 5* - 0, again!) TOMASELLA says:

    LMAO!! .. Not a surprise as I figured it would be something along the lines of a “fast crush” on one another. I will say this , I never would have thought you would wind up married so quickly. But hey , Never play with “Cupid”…lol.

    JT

  8. danadogooder says:

    Just so it is clear Joey 5 O he fell in love with me first! 🙂

Leave a Reply

