Nic’s Ass Was Here!


Last Tuesday my friend and I were having a conversation. She thinks my family needs more sleep. Granted, there may be some truth to this on some occasions but I can only long for the days that my boys fall asleep early. Matter of fact, they are rarely tired even after a long day at school and the long commute to the private school they attend for children with learning disabilities and ADHD. (The youngest I home school.)  So as a mother of three boys my job, Wear them down with some good ole fashioned exercise.

The exercise of choice in this house is SWIM although my boys do others as well, cross country running, basketball, track, etc… But swim is year round now. A great lifelong healthy sport. Regular swimming builds endurance, muscle and is a great cardio-vascular exercise with the least amount of stress on your joints. My two elder boys have suffered with Osgood-Schlotter Disease (OSD) during the running season which is a condition that causes severe pain towards the top of the shinbone. This condition is very common in athletes between the ages of ten to fifteen because at this age the bones grow rapidly and the tendon may not be lengthening at the same rate. The result is extra tension where the patellar tendon attaches to the bone. When you combine this tightness with increased activity such as running you get knee pain. Therefore, swimming is our preferred choice of sport. Plus my boys are great swimmers.

Therefore, I try to have my boys swim as much as possible. My middle son is the only one who usually gives the hardest time about going. However, once he gets there he is great. But many days he whines that he does not want to go. He claims he doesn’t get enough free time, etc… Last Tuesday was one of those days. He started, “I’m tired. I need a break.” His brothers actually agreed today. I thought to myself, “My friend is right, the boys need a break, they need sleep.” I felt guilty. I decided to let them stay home so they could relax.

Shortly after I could hear the boys horsing around. They were playing basketball in their bathroom. They have one of those hoops to shoot their dirty laundry in (it is rare that I find clothes in the basket though)! So instead of using it for its intended purpose they have a smaller size ball and they have full fledged basketball games in the bathroom. I hate it. Sounds like the whole room will cave in. But I was tired myself (usually swim serves a dual purpose, they swim and I get to relax). So tonight I would not get my hour quiet time relaxing in my car prior to going to watch them swim the last hour. I decided I would head to my couch and possibly watch a little t.v. which is a rarity for me. I was tense from all the crashing and bashing I heard going on though. I desperately tried to ignore it! The last CRASH occurred and then silence. I thought that it did not sound good but maybe they went back to their X-Box or the computer. Ahhh, silence at last…..

Shortly after, my little and my middle appeared. They looked scared and ghost white. They said, “Mommy we have something to tell you.” They proceeded to say they had put a hole in the wall. I said, “How big?” They answered,”REALLY BIG!” I remained eerie calm. I went with them to look as they explained. They had been playing basketball. Victor left the bathroom. Nic decided to be funny and jump on his brother’s back. Victor was spinning around with Nic on his back and decided to do a creative kind of wrestling move and smashed his brother into the wall. They were¬† having so much fun and laughing. It was horseplay. However, the laughing stopped as soon as they realized, Nic’s ass was stuck in the wall. They got quiet but couldn’t help to still let out a giggle here and there. My eldest son had to help Nic. He had to literally remove Nic’s ass from the wall. I glared at the hole.

I calmly turned and looked at them and said, “You will NEVER miss swim again.” I then said, “Now you need to go tell your Dad what you did and then go straight to bed!” ( Even though it was barely 8 p.m..) I walked with them to the basement and they told my husband. Somehow he remained his composure too and just said, “The hole will remain there till the day we sell the house.” I thought to myself, Great, was he serious? I knew he really didn’t need another thing to do. He works hard day and night these days just so we can live here and so that we can pay almost $500 a month for the boys to swim. He also is our handyman so anything goes wrong with the furnace, house, car, etc…. he does it. The man is tired. He just turned 50. He didn’t really need another thing to do.

The boys went straight to bed and they did not dare come out of their room. They probably were relieved and thought they had gotten off pretty easy.

The next day during breakfast I reminded them of the damage and how hard mom and dad work to keep things nice, I proclaimed this was at least $500 worth of damage. We’d probably have to replace the entire wall, etc… I wanted it to sound very drastic so they would continue to repent for what they had done. At that moment, my little one informed me, “No mom you just have to cut out the piece of drywall and patch it.” I asked him where he got this idea from? He informed me that him and Victor had looked it up on YouTube, how to fix a hole in the wall prior to them reporting the incident to me. I couldn’t help but laugh. Then my teen chimed in, “Mom, it was pretty funny having to remove Nic’s ass from the wall. He was really stuck in the wall.” He began to laugh. We all laughed.

That night in bed, I repeated the story to my husband of how the boys had actually looked on You Tube of how to fix the hole in our wall prior to them gaining the courage to come tell us what they had done. He even had to laugh. Just twenty four hours later we could all laugh about it. And to my surprise my husband gathered the materials and tools needed that Saturday after along with our son Nicolas. He taught our son who is the one we actually home school a real live hands on lesson.

As a matter of fact, they both had a really good time making the repair. I’m just hoping the boys don’t get any bright ideas of breaking something on purpose just to have some Daddy and Me Mr. Fix It Time. In the meantime, I will never forget, “Nic’s Ass Was Here!”

copyrighted 2012; danadogooder and DMT

About danadogooder

Happily married for 20 years except when he is pissing me off! ' Mommy of 3 boys, a yellow female lab named Curious, 2 kitties Trouble and Kornelia, and bird and fish! Yes, we have a Zoo! Love to cook, entertain, and travel. I give new meaning to, "You can't fight city hall" Cause I fought worse, "Yes, The Board of Ed! " I live in a houseful of ADHD, Dyslexia, Auditory Processing, Sensory Integration and Allergies!!! I love being a Mom, to have fun and am always joking around! My job titles are: Wife, Mommy, Advocate, Friend, Maid, Cook, Self Employed Business Owner among many others!
This entry was posted in Humor, Life, Parenting and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Nic’s Ass Was Here!

  1. Sherry says:

    Boys will be boys!!! Thank goodness your husband is “handy” and it was an easy fix :)

Leave a Reply

